Rwanda elected into the International Labour Organisation Governing Body

Yesterday 12th June, 2017, Rwanda was elected to be a Member of the International Labour Organisation Governing Body for a 3 year term (2017-2020). The election was held in Geneva during the 106th International Labour Conference (ILC). Rwanda has not served in the ILO Governing Body for the last three decades.
Hon. Judith Uwizeye, Minister of Public Service and Labour, who represented the Government of Rwanda in the 106th International Labour Conference (ILC), expressed her great satisfaction after the election.
“I am extremely happy; Rwanda is now a Member of the ILO Governing Body from 2017 up to 2020, thanks to our President H.E. Paul KAGAME for his visionary leadership.” Disclosed UWIZEYE after Rwanda‘s election.
The Governing Body is the Executive Organ of the ILO. The Governing Body is responsible for taking decision on all ILO Policies, adopting ILO Programs and Budget; electing the Director-General of ILO, appointing commissions of inquiry, supervising the work of the International Labour Office and requesting information from member states concerning labour matters, among others.
Members of the Governing Body also participate in decision making of the following ILO Committees (Policy Development Committee; Committee on Freedom of Association; Programme, Financial and Administrative Committee; Institutional Committee; Legal Issues and International Labour Standards Committee; High-Level Committee; Working Party on the Functioning of the Governing Body and the International Labour Conference; and Committee on the Application of Standards).
The Governing Body is composed of 56 Regular Members (28 Governments, 14 Employers and 14 Workers) and 66 Deputy Members (28 Governments, 19 Employers and 19 Workers).
Ten of the Regular Government Seats are permanently held by States of chief industrial importance (Brazil, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States). The other Government Members, and the Worker and Employer Members, are elected by the Conference every three years. Africa holds 13 Governments Seats.
Rwanda will be representing the East Africa Group which is composed of 14 ILO Member States which include Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Sudan, Ethiopia, Somalia, Djibouti, Mauritius, Comoros, Eretria, Seychelles and Madagascar.
To be elected, a Government must obtain more than half of the votes cast by the Members of the Electoral College present at the Meeting. Rwanda obtained 228 Votes out of 253.

Copyright ©2017 MIFOTRA, All Rights Reserved